SENATE BIG FALL: The Men Who Won & Those Lost Out #NigeriaDecides

Three Peoples Democratic Party governors have lost their senatorial bid. The governors are Isa Yuguda (Bauchi); Gabriel Suswam (Benue) and Niger State Governor, Babangida Aliyu.

In Anambra State also, a former governor of the state, Chris Ngigie, who represents Anambra-Central, lost his seat to a woman. In Kogi State, the senator representing Kogi-West, Smart Adeyemi, lost to former House of Representatives member, Dino Melaye of the APC.

Below are names of the BIG winners:
Senate President David Mark of the PDP won Benue South Senatorial district election, defeating Daniel Onje of the APC for his fifth term in the Senate.

Governors Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom), Jonah Jang (Plateau), Musa Kwankwaso (Kano) Theodore Orji (Abia) and Aliyu Wammako (Sokoto) also won their senatorial seats in their states.

Meanwhile, some notable senators suffered shocking defeats in their return bids to the Senate.

For instance, Hayatu Gwarzo (Kano, PDP) who has been in the Upper House since 1999, same for Deputy Senate Leader Abdul Ningi (Bauchi, PDP). Senators Zaynab Kure (Niger PDP), Chris Ngige (Anambra, APC) and Ahmed Makarfi (Kaduna) also suffered defeats.

Kwankwaso (APC) won Kano Central senatorial seat, beating the incumbent, Senator Basheer Lado. He polled 758,383 to Lado’s 205,809.

In Kano North, Senator Hayatu Gwarzo’s 16-year reign in the Senate came to an end as he was defeated. 

Senator Kabiru Gaya of the APC retained his seat in Kano South Senatorial zone.

It was a clean sweep for the PDP in the state as Governor Jonah Jang emerged winner in the Plateau North senatorial district while Jeremiah Useni won the Plateau South Senatorial zone, with the incumbent, Joshua Dariye, retaining his seat of Plateau central zone.

Incumbent senator, Phillip Aduda, retained his seat with 151,737 of the votes.

Former governor of Kaduna, Senator Ahmed Makarfi (PDP) lost the Kaduna North senatorial seat in to his ex-commissioner of finance, Alhaji Suleiman Othman Hukunyi who is now a member of APC.

Hukunyi defeated Makarfi who has been in the Senate since 2007 with 447,919 votes to 136,197.

Comrade Shehu Sani of APC won Kaduna Central Senatorial seat after defeating Senator Mohammed Mukhtar Aruwa of the PDP with 468,964 votes to 168,241.

Southern Kaduna senatorial seat, Mr Danjuma Laah of the PDP defeated APC’s Ishaku Shekarau.

In Bayelsa, the PDP swept all the three senatorial zones as Senator George Sekibo, Olaka Johnson Nwogu and Hon Osinakachukwu won for Rivers East, South East and Rivers West respectively

In Anambra State, PDP candidate, Iyom Uche Ekwunife, won the Central senatorial zone, beating incumbent Senator Chris Ngige, while former aviation minister, Stella Odua, won the Anambra North Senatorial zone, while the incumbent senator, Andy Uba, retained his seat in the South senatorial zone.

In Bauchi, APC candidate, Isa Hamman Misau, unseated the Senate Leader Abdul Ningi of the PDP. Misau scored 208, 741 votes while Senator Ningi scored 57, 172 votes.

In Bauchi North Senatorial district, Senator Nazif Gamawa of APC defeated Alhaji Faruq Mustapha of the PDP to secure the Senate seat.

Senator Eyinnaya Abaribe, retained his seat at the Abia South senatorial zone while the incumbent governor Theodeore Orji won in Abia Central. Both are PDP men.

Senator Oluremi Tinubu (APC) is set to win the Lagos Central senatorial district as she was having a comfortable lead ahead of her opponent, Ade Dosunmu of PDP at the time of going to press.

[Source: APC is winning the three Senate seats in Lagos]

In Kebbi, APC won all senatorial seats as former FCT minister, Senator Adamu Aliero, won in Kebbi Central In Kebbi North, Dr Yahya Abdullahi of APC defeat governor, Alhaji Saidu Dakingari of PDP. In Kebbi South, Hon Bala Ibn Na’Allah of the APC defeated PDP’s Sadiq Yalwa.

The APC swept the three senatorial seats in Osun State. 
Senator Babajide Omoworare emerged the senator-elect for Osun East. For Osun West, Prof Sola Adeyeye of APC floored the PDP candidate, Chief Oluwole Aina, while Senator Adetunji Adeleke of APC beat the PDP candidate, Senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi.

Akwa Ibom
Governor Godwill Akpabio won Akwa Ibom North-East to defeat APC’s Inibehe Okorie.

Buruji Kashamu, chairman, Organisation and Mobilisation Committee of the PDP, defeated incumbent Senator Gbenga Kaka of SDP for Ogun by polling 99,540 to Kaka’s 12, 972.

Governor Aliyu Wammako (APC) defeated Senator Ahmed Maccido (PDP) in Sokoto Central. APC won all the three Senate seats in Sokoto State.

PDP had a clean sweep in Imo under controversial circumstances.

Deputy senate president, Ike Ekweremadu of the PDP was declared winner of the Enugu West.

David Umaru of APC defeated Governor Babangida Aliyu. APC took all the Senate seats in Niger.

APC won two senatorial seats in Nasarawa State.

Governor Gabriel Suswam lost Benue North East senatorial seat to the incumbent Barnabas Gemade.


Post a Comment

Be Socialized And Subscribed
Be Socialized And Subscribed
Receive All Latest And Hottest Musics,Gossips & News Updates Directly Into Your Inbox & Stay With Us !!!

E-Mail Will Be Delivered By FeedBurner.